My research topic is; what career options are available with a college degree in psychology?

My topic is relevant for those who have either acquired a college degree in psychology or those who are thinking about majoring in psychology. More specifically my question is geared to those who have had serious considerations in the field of psychology and understand basic terms.

Incredibly the DePaul library had tons of books focusing on this exact question! While the amount of information I found was more than I could have possibly asked for; it was also overwhelming to see that it took each book about 300 pages to answer a question that I thought was pretty simple. With this in mind I decided to narrow my question or at least my research in a specific direction. Lunsford’s narrowing steps will come in handy when I have a clear direction for my research paper.

Vannost, Sarah. Personal interview. 22 April. 2010.

Sarah, my academic advisor at DePaul, stresses the importance of finding a direction in the field of psychology. The two main directions being the pre-med track, needed to become a psychiatrist, and the counseling or therapy areas that have more flexibility in the classes you take. To become a psychologist only four years of college are needed, therefore making this track the more desirable route for many students. Since I showed interest in the pre-med track Sarah questioned my ability in the science field. Together we decided that exploring my strengths and weaknesses in this field would be important before I declare the route I would like to take.

Morgan, Betsy, and Ann Korschgen. Majoring in Psych?. New York: Pearson Education, Inc., 2006.

This book begins to answer your questions by getting into your head. All of the chapter titles are stated as questions that the chapter then tackles. The break down of the book and its chapters makes it easy to approach all of my curiosities. I believe that chapter three titled: What Careers are Available? Will be of aid to my research paper.

Morgan, Robert, Tara Kuther, and Corey Habben. Life After Graduate School in Psychology. New York: Taylor & Francis Group, 2005.

The approach of this book is to get direct advice from working psychologists. Although I am excited to gain tips from this book it is directed only to those that are not intending to take the pre-med route with their psychology career. This book will come in great use when discovering potential career options and for using indirect sources from interviews and conversations.

